11 Cool and Smashing WhatsApp Features That You probably Didn’t Know They Exist

Please share and like us

Know the stats of how many messages you and your friends have sent to each other

Here is a way to check with whom you communicate the most on WhatsApp, go to Settings > Account > Network Usage.
A number appears next to each contact that represents the total number of messages sent back-and-forth. Selecting a person reveals more information, including how many messages have been sent by whom.















Mute group chats

Group chat notifications — especially if you are a member of a big group — can become annoying, particularly if you aren’t involved in the conversation. While muting group chat may seem drastic, sometimes these things have to be done.
Go to the group chat in question, click on its name and select “Mute” where you will be presented with three options: 8 hours, a week, and a year.















Change your WhatsApp number if you switch phone numbers

Setting up WhatsApp and then changing phones can be a pain. The service is not linked to your actual phone number, just the first number you enter and verify. This “number” will then follow you onto your next phone, creating confusion for everyone.
If you get a new number, you can change your WhatsApp number quite easily but going to Settings > Account >

Change Number and following the steps from there.














Create custom group chat notifications

An alternative to muting group chat is having different notifications for each one meaning that you only have to check your phone for the important ones.
Just like the muting feature, head to the chat, click the name and go to “Custom Notifications” where a different sound can be selected.















Stop photos from being saved to the camera roll

Phone storage space is a precious thing, and WhatsApp can consume a lot of it.
This goes specifically for iPhone users. Head to Apple Settings > Privacy > Photos and then un-select WhatsApp from the list, banning the app from saving new pictures to the camera roll. Pictures do still download, however, so you won’t be missing out.















See when someone has read your message

Checking when someone read your message is useful for all kinds of reasons, especially in a group chat setting.
To check, select the message and drag it left, revealing the time it was delivered and the time it was read. In a group chat, a list of who the message has been delivered to and who has read it shows instead.

Note: if you uncheck Read Receipts to prevent people from seeing when you have read their messages, you also won’t be able to see when other people have read your messages which is explained further down.














You can switch off Read Receipts — just like iMessage

Reading someone’s messages without replying is, in 2015, considered the height of bad digital etiquette. Luckily, WhatsApp can help.
By going to Settings > Account > Privacy and switching off Read Receipts, your friends will never know that you are ignoring them.














Hide your “Last Seen” time

Hiding your “Last Seen” time is a useful feature if you don’t want people to know when you last checked into WhatsApp. It can also help you people who always annoy you pinging to gel with you better.
In order to switch it off, head to Settings > Account > Privacy > Last Seen. From here, you can select who gets to view your “Last Seen” time.

The feature does come with a trade off: you won’t be able to see anyone else’s “Last Seen” time either. After all who cares, who has lastly checked into whatsapp.














Access WhatsApp on the web

WhatsApp Web, accessed via web.whatsapp.com, brings the phone experience to your computer and is available in all major browsers.
To access it, go to the website, scan the QR code with the WhatsApp app and you will be logged in. From here you can start, continue and end conversations with all the usual features that are in the app.












Block a contact

The most useful and commonly used feature, though worth mentioning I feel. If you are really pissed off with this person’s heights of nagging or irritating you, then please follow these steps. Head to Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts. Add the contact from your list and you are freed. You no more receive messages from that contact.














The Broadcast List feature

A Broadcast List allows you to create, save and message a list of contacts instantaneously. Recipients receive your broadcast message like a regular message – directly in the individual chat. Recipients also do not know who else received the message and do not know that it was sent as part of a Broadcast List. When they respond, they only respond to you individually. In this sense, it works like the bcc (blind carbon copy) function in an email.

Head to Chats screen and Tap the Broadcast Lists button at the top. Tap New List at the bottom of the Broadcast Lists screen. Type your contacts’ names or press the (+) button to choose from your contact list and create.

In order for specific contacts to receive your broadcast message, they must have your phone number saved in their address books. This allows our users to control from whom they wish to receive broadcast messages.


















Here you go :) Happy texting :)

ImgSrc: ghacks, businessinsider, whatsapp

Facebook Comments